Itty Bitty Bites

Even though you may end up eating three or more (like 20), there’s something about a bite-sized treat that makes you feel like you’re being really, really good. So if you’ve never made mini muffins or cupcakes, don’t you think that it’s time to try something new? I promise you’ll never look back.

You can convert any muffin or cupcake recipe to “minis” by cutting the baking time. The rule of thumb is 12-15 minutes at 350° for a standard muffin or cupcake recipe.

Here’s a blueberry-banana muffin recipe I just had to try because it’s healthy (can you say fibre?) and because I needed some school snacks for my little Grade One ponytail. Oh, and did I mention that I have about 100 very ripe bananas in my freezer, along with the large haul of blueberries we picked this summer. I need to clear out my freezer in preparation for cookie season, which is just around the corner.

If you’re like me before making this recipe, wheat germ isn’t something sitting in your cupboard. It’s worth getting for this recipe, as you’ll make it again (they really are good) and I have a recipe for healthy granola bars that also calls for wheat germ, so I’ll post it soon.

Tips:

  • Buy a timer! It’ll become your best friend in the kitchen.
  • Always set your timer for the low-end of the baking time listed and check to see if your goodies are done. If not, you can always bake a little longer but over-cooking can’t be undone.
  • When you bake something for the first time, write the final baking time on a post-it note and stick it to the recipe for next time.
  • Invest in a 24-mini muffin pan. It’ll save you time in the long run, as you’ll only need to bake two pans for a standard muffin/cupcake recipe which usually makes about 30 mini muffins/cupcakes. I bought mine for under $10 at HomeSense.

 

Scrumptious Blueberry & Banana Muffins

(Makes about 30 mini muffins or 12 regular)

Janet and Greta Podleski, published in TogetherFamily.ca

  • 1 cup quick-cooking rolled oats (not instant)
  • ½ cup each all-purpose flour and whole wheat flour
  • ¼ cup wheat germ
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 1-1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1-1/2 cups mashed ripe bananas (approx. 3)
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ cup butter, melted
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

Preheat oven to 375° F. Spray a 24-mini muffin tin and half of a 12-mini muffin tin with cooking spray and set aside (or use your 24-cup muffin tin twice).

Combine oats, both flours, wheat germ, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. Mix well and set aside.

In a smaller bowl, whisk together bananas, egg and melted butter. Add banana mixture to dry ingredients and stir just until dry ingredients are moistened. Gently fold in blueberries.

Divide batter among muffin cups. Bake for approx 13 or 14 minutes, or until a wooden pick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack. (Note: If making 12 regular sized muffins, bake for 20 minutes)

 

6 Comments on “Itty Bitty Bites”

  1. Oh my, I was just thinking about making muffins, and I do have a half rotted banana in the freezer…perfect timing Barb! Congratulations on your first post. I’ll mention it on my next post!
    PS. I have wheat germ in my pantry!

  2. Pamela Miles says:

    I have the privilege of eating these tasty little muffins the other week, and they are fabulous!! I look forward to your next blog Barb. Congrats on your blog. I will be following faithfully. Pam

  3. Deborah Tucker says:

    Hi Barb,

    I have to tell you that I make these muffins almost weekly now and b/c of this recipe I finally invested in a mini muffin pan…. however, it is time to move on & try your other tempting dishes. I know your latest post on the sweet and salty cookies would be a big hit with the family! Look forward to catching up with you soon!!
    Deb

    • Thanks for letting me know Debs, and glad that you are getting good use out of your mini muffin pan! I think that Bruce and Sophie would both like those sweet and salty cookies….they went fast here. Hopefully our schedules will permit a visit really soon!

  4. petit4chocolatier says:

    Excellent recipe and they look delicious! As you know I love the mini muffins and hadn’t thought about blueberry and banana muffins! What a great recipe. It is bookmarked for me to bake over the holidays!! The only thing I will have to purchase is wheat germ : )


Leave a Reply

