Two Rivals Join Forces

My husband has had a thing for Jambalaya for quite some time now. But sometimes he cheats on his great love and goes out with Risotto. What’s a guy to do when he’s torn between two (or three) loves?

But those days are over, now that I’ve brought these two rivals together by creating Jambalaya Risotto just for him. (It’s easier to keep my eye on them this way.) His days of sneaking around are over—hopefully!

 Jambalaya Risotto

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 large shallots, chopped (or 3 small shallots)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1-1/2 cups of Arborio rice
  • ½ cup wine or verjus
  • 1 900 ml box of chicken stock, plus 1.5 cups hot water
  • ¾ cup diced tomato (fresh or canned)
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • ½ pound shrimp (deveined, precooked, tails removed)
  • 3 large andouille sausages (or 4 small sausages/see tips)
  • 1 small chicken breast
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ½ tsp ground pepper
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • Pinch of cayenne

In a large sauté pan, add 1 tbsp olive oil. Cook chicken for 10 minutes per side and remove from pan and slice into small pieces. Add remaining 1 tbsp olive oil and cook sausage for 8 minutes per side. Remove from pan and slice. (You can sauté the sliced sausage for 2 minutes to brown each piece nicely.)

Bring broth and water to a simmer in a saucepan. Meanwhile, heat 2 tablespoons butter in a large heavy pot over medium heat and cook onion, until just softened, about 5 minutes. Add garlic and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, another 2 minutes. Add green pepper and cook for another 3 or 4 minutes. Add thyme, paprika, salt, pepper and cayenne. Stir in rice and cook, stirring, 1 minute. Add wine (or verjus) and cook, stirring, until absorbed, about 1 minute.

Add tomatoes, chicken breast and sausage and mix well. Stir 1 cup simmering broth into rice and cook, stirring constantly and keeping at a strong simmer, until absorbed. Continue cooking and adding broth, about 1/2 cup at a time, stirring frequently and letting each addition be absorbed before adding next. Add shrimp when you have approximately 1 cup of broth remaining. Continue adding broth until rice is just tender and creamy-looking but still al dente. (Total time about 18 to 22 minutes.)

Tips

  • Andouille sausage can be tricky to find. I buy mine at the Sausage King in St. Lawrence Market. You can substitute with kielbasa or italian sausage.
  • You can use uncooked shrimp–I use precooked as a short cut. Just be sure to add them to the rice 4 or so minutes before the rice is cooked to ensure they cook through.
  • You’ll note that I used red pepper in my photographed version. I had a red pepper in the house that I needed to use up. However, the green pepper adds a nice contrast to the tomatoes.
  • If you use canned tomatoes, you can freeze the leftovers for your next batch of pasta sauce.
  • I hold back on the spice for this because of our ponytails. You can take it up a notch by adding a little more cayenne.
  • Garnish with parsley or chives. I normally do this, but was a bit stretched for time this round.
8 Comments on “Two Rivals Join Forces”

  1. Ann says:

    What a great idea! My husband says he would NEVER leave me – he’d starve!

  2. Eva Taylor says:

    Oh Barbie, you made me laugh. Kevin cheating on Jambalaya? Very funny. Risotto Jambalaya sounds delicious, if it weren’t for us trying to cut down carbs, I’d be trying this one too! Have you tried used the Spanish smoked paprika? It’s quite flavourful and adds a lovely smokiness to the meal. The girls might not like it, but I think Kevin would.

    • Kevin was disappointed that he wasn’t referenced in my blog name — but I’m not sure he was counting on this kind of publicity! I love the Spanish smoked paprika, but I was afraid it would make it more like paella — guess it is worth a try! Kevin definitely likes it in other dishes!

  3. spicegirlfla says:

    What a great idea to make this with risotto! I adore risotto, prefering it over simple rice. Love it!!

  4. Charles says:

    What a great combination – combining two loves into one. I guess it wouldn’t work so effectively with something like chocolate cupcakes and spaghetti bolognese though 😀 I noticed you used “andouille” sausage and I had to laugh… I’ve heard some stories of Americans/Canadians who came to visit France and saw a sausage on a menu in a restaurant called “Andouillette” which they happily ordered, thinking it would be like an Andouille and were shocked to be served this monstrosity (the smell is NOT good) 😀

    • I love that story! That is so funny. It’s like the friend of ours who ordered pepperoncini in Italy thinking it was pepperoni and he couldn’t eat the dish because it was so hot!!! Makes me want to go travelling…..


Leave a Reply

