Chocolate & Zucchini Eat Quick Bread

I’ve finally managed to break free from my Banana Bread rut. Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing like a slice of really good Banana Bread. The ponytails just love it and it is a great way to use up my never-ending pile of over-ripe bananas each weekend. But after a few months, the love starts to fade a bit.

I bought some zucchini to use in a veggie chili that I made recently and had a large zucchini left over. Then I realized it was time to start making room for another kind of loaf in my life.

I baked this bread on Saturday afternoon after my daughters’ swimming lessons, and the moans of hunger from the girls started about 10 minutes before I removed it from the oven. As soon as the loaf was cool enough to handle, I sliced and served a piece to each of them. When I turned around, I discovered that half the loaf was gone. In my house, you have to eat fast if you want to get your share. So, I think that this loaf is appropriately named. However, I might have also called it Chocolate & Zucchini Take Photo Quick Bread – since it was disappearing faster than the money in my wallet after payday. My husband Kevin has pointed out that I need to be patient, as the family is still getting used to this whole “cook and click” routine and that a picture of a partial loaf proves that it is a good recipe. Hopefully you agree?

Chocolate & Zucchini Eat Quick Bread

  • 1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup whole wheat flour
  • ½ cup cocoa, sifted
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • ½ cup canola oil
  • ¼ cup sour cream (I used 1%)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 ½ cups grated zucchini

Preheat oven to 350° and grease 9 ½” x 5 ½” loaf pan.

In medium bowl whisk together eggs, sugar, oil, sour cream and vanilla. In a second bowl, stir together the two flours, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Fold the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and stir until combined. Add zucchini and mix well. Pour the mixture into the prepared loaf pan and bake for 50 to 55 minutes (until inserted toothpick comes out clean). Remove from the pan and cool on a rack.

TIP:

  • Walnuts and/or chocolate chips would be a great addition to this recipe (1/2 cup). I didn’t add the nuts because the loaf is this week’s school snack. I also wanted the zucchini to be the star of the show so I held back on the chocolate chips this time.
21 Comments on “Chocolate & Zucchini Eat Quick Bread”

  1. I’ve never quite understood the vegetable in quick bread routine (SIL used to make a tomato soup bread; tomato soup, really?) but the proof is in the loaf and since it has disappeared faster than…well, you know, it must be GOOD! JT would do well at your house, he is a fast eater!
    BTW, how is Feb 10 sounding?

    • Ha, ha! I can’t say that I’d be running to try tomato soup quick bread. As a mom, I’m not above sneaking veggies into anything that I make. I do find it funny that both girls pick the zucchini out of their chili, but ask for zucchini bread by name. Makes me think they’ll eat anything with chocolate in it.

  2. Kristy says:

    I love zucchini bread, but have never made one of my own. It would disappear fast here too; although I would need mine without chocolate. And I think the picture of the half loaf just proves that it’s delicious! 😉 (By the way, I’m officially banana bread-ed out for now too. 😉 )

    • I think that trying some new banana loaf recipes would also help, and your site has provided great inspiration for that. I’ll always make banana bread, but this was a nice change of pace. Glad that I’m not alone in enjoying some veggies in a quick loaf!

  3. Tara says:

    Not sure you will have any left for snacks this week.

  4. I wouldn’t necessarily have thought of putting zucchini and chocolate together (except for the blog Chocolate and Zucchini), but now that I see the loaf and read the recipe, it makes sense! And hey, if the ponytails love it, it must be good! I think the walnuts would be a really interesting addition both from a textural and a flavor POV. Great idea!

    • Thanks Betsy. I actually first made this combination as a mini muffin — but they were more like little cakes. The girls really liked them and that got me thinking about other ways to use this flavour combination. I wanted to come up with a recipe that would incorporate some whole wheat flour, and not be quite as “chocolatey” as the mini muffins I made before. After I put this together I did a google search and found that most of the chocolate and zucchini bread recipes used half the amount of flour that I did with similar amounts of chocolate and zucchini — and they were much richer/darker. I found this to be a good balance of flavour, without feeling like it’s a dessert.

  5. Sissi says:

    Barb, it sounds like one of the most incredible chocolate cake versions. The green bits of zucchini skin look so lovely, I thought at first you have added pistachio 😉 I must try your recipe one day. I love courgette, but have never used it in a sweet dish.
    PS “I didn’t add the nuts because the loaf is this week’s school snack.” Are children not allowed to bring nuts to school?

    • You got it. Kids can’t bring anything with nuts in them to school here in Ontario, and likely right across Canada. In fact, we are no longer allowed to send snacks for other children to school — only for our own children. I used to send snacks for my daughter’s entire kindergarten class once a month, but they’ve now stopped that because there are so many serious nut/peanut allergies in the schools. They have even sent instructions to make sure that containers we send to school have been washed in dishwashers and not just hand washed. As for the zucchini, I highly recommend it in a sweet dish like this one.

      BTW, you’ve convinced me to buy a scale. You raised such a good point about being able to try/make European recipes.

      • Sissi says:

        Hi, Barb. Thank you for the explanation. All these allergies are scary (I don’t have children, but I know so many children and more and more adults have them… I remember as a child I knew only one person with an allergy to aspirin, but no one with food allergy…). I know there are many explanations, but apparently the lack of contact with different bacteria is often the reason… I have seen once a very interesting medical program where they talked about allergy statistics in France. Apparently, children who were sent to kindergarten had 40% less allergies than the children who stayed at home until the school age. Crazy, isn’t it?
        I hope you will be happy with your scales! I hope I didn’t give you a useless advice 🙂

  6. Judy says:

    This looks fabulous, Barb. And I love that you are blogging regularly. An inspiration as I don’t get enough writing in my life anymore.

    • So nice to hear from you Judy!!! I was finding the same thing — and am enjoying the regular postings. Although, I’m cringing at the occasional typo I find when I go back through the site. I just don’t spend as much time proofing as I do for my day-job!

  7. Charles says:

    Love Eva’s comment about “Tomato Soup bread” ^^ haha… awesome. I should try to make a “Leek and Potato Soup bread” 😀

    I’ve heard of zucchini and chocolate paired up before in cakes and breads. The combination sounds truly bizarre, I have to say, but I love to try bizarre things, and I love to be surprised. Judging by all the people raving about it around the blogosphere it must be a good thing, and the proof doesn’t lie – any loaf that disappears that fast has got to be good!

    The colour looks wonderful, Barb – really rich and I love the look of the little bits of zucchini inside!

    • Thanks so much for your comments Charles. Yes, I laughed at Eva’s comments too. I’d be curious to know how your leek and potato soup loaf turns out if you make it….with just the right amount of garlic! 🙂

      I highly recommend this flavour combination…..it’s definitely a winner.

  8. Ann says:

    This sounds delicious and I love the title “take photo quick bread”! I bet it was the perfect description! The read looks so moist and delicious – I’d love a slice right now with some coffee and good conversation – are you game?

  9. hotlyspiced says:

    That is very funny. Yes, when something delicious and fragrant comes out of the oven here, you have to be very quick or you’ll miss the moment. Your loaf looks delicious and moist and I can see why it disappeared so fast.

    • I wonder if rushing to get your share of loaf and other tasty items counts as exercise? If so, I’m doing well on that front this year! I’ve just enjoyed reading through a bit of your blog — it sounds like things are lively in your kitchen! Nice to meet you!

  10. Lisa says:

    This looks wonderful. Zucchini is usually my best producer in my summer garden. I will be sure to keep this recipe. Thank you for sharing.

  11. petit4chocolatier says:

    I love zucchini bread and chocolate! Your bread looks moist and delicious 🙂


Leave a Reply

