Oodles of Peanut Noodles

I’ve mentioned that most weeknights are pretty crazy these days. Well, here’s an easy weeknight recipe for those nights where there’s no need to rush out the door for an activity. It can be prepared in just under 30 minutes and it’s always a hit with the girls. I’ve made this for several of my oldest ponytail’s friends who’ve had dinner at our place, and they’ve all eaten several plates.

This makes oodles of noodles, as I’ve mentioned in the headline. Some nights there’s very little leftover, while other nights there’s enough for another meal–so it fits well with my curent “cooking in bulk” strategy. This also freezes well.

I have to give credit to the idea of making noodles with broccoli slaw to Ann over at Cooking Healthy for Me–although Ann closed down her blog several months ago.  Ann’s recipe was quite different, as it used carrot juice and pre-made peanut sauce. I tried Ann’s recipe but made quite a few modifications and ended up with this version of peanut noodles. (Thanks Ann!) It’s now part of our regular weeknight rotation.

Peanut Noodles

(6 to 8 servings)

  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 340 g package broccoli slaw
  • 2 large carrots, peeled and grated
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp ginger, minced
  • Juice of one lime
  • Pinch crushed red pepper flakes
  • ½ cup natural peanut butter
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp mirin sweet cooking seasoning
  • ½ cup water
  • ¼ cup sodium-reduced soy sauce
  • 375 g spaghetti (I often use Catelli Smart or whole wheat)

 Optional toppings:

  • Cooked shrimp
  • Green onion, chopped
  • Sesame seeds
  • Crushed peanuts, unsalted
  • Wedges of lime (on the side)

 Directions:

  1. Cook spaghetti according to package directions.
  2. Saute shrimp until cooked (optional) and set aside.
  3. Add sesame oil to pan and add garlic and ginger over medium heat. Cook for one minute. Add broccoli slaw and grated carrots and cook for about 8 minutes until softened.
  4. Add peanut butter, lime juice, red pepper flakes, brown sugar, mirin, water and soy sauce. Simmer two to three minutes until sauce thickens. At this point you can add additional water by the tablespoon until desired consistency is reached. (I like to add an additional 2 to 3 tbsp of water to thin out the sauce a bit more.) Stir in cooked spaghetti until mixed thoroughly.
  5. Serve with toppings (if using).

NOTES:

  • Broccoli slaw is a mixture of shredded carrots, cabbage and broccoli that is available in North America. You could add shredded broccoli to your regular cole slaw as a substitute.
  • I also use this peanut sauce (without the slaw and grated carrots) for my own version of broccoli and beef stir-fry. It’s quite versatile and could be used for satays etc.
  • If using regular peanut butter, just reduce the brown sugar to approx. 1 tbsp.
  • Catelli Smart pasta is available in North America and it is 2-1/2 times the fibre of regular white pasta, but it looks and tastes like regular pasta. For this reason, I use it a lot! The Catelli Smart spaghetti box that I buy is in fact 375 g, so I use the whole box for this recipe (which makes things very easy!). After looking on the website, I realize that the sizes must be different in the U.S., as the box size profiled is 454 g. In this case, you would use 3/4 of the box.
  • If cooking for only two or three people (and you don’t like leftovers), this recipe can easily be cut in half. The broccoli slaw cooks down, so you could still use the whole package and omit adding the grated carrot. Or, depending on your preference, you could reduce the amount of slaw down to 1/2 or 3/4 of the package. All remaining items just need to be reduced to half the amount specified in the recipe.
47 Comments on “Oodles of Peanut Noodles”

  1. Saskia (1=2) says:

    Love all the ingredients in this one – my boys are mad about peanut butter and I’m mad about mirin! We love our stir-fries and it’s great to have a different recipe to try. I’m embarrassed to say I don’t know what broccoli slaw is though. I wonder if we have an Australian equivalent? Is it a ready-made slaw mix with raw broccoli in it? Very curious…

  2. Kristy says:

    I’m in desperate need of this kind of fast and tasty meal. Fantastic Barb! Thank you. I know for sure that Mr. N will love this. And I made your banana blueberry muffins for the kids’ school snacks last week. They were a BIG hit. In fact, they’ve already been requested again! 🙂

    • I hope that Mr. N likes it Kristy. It really has gone over well with a number of kids in the neighbourhood, which is always such a relief.

      I’m so pleased about the muffins. I had to take a little break from them for a while (from making them SO much), but we are back to enjoying them again. I’ll email you another great pumpkin muffin I just found that are going like hot cakes …

  3. I think these would be a great Thai night meal my friend, there is something so delicious about peanuts! 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. Ali says:

    This looks great! Broccoli slaw is definitely something I’ve only come across in North Anerica but it is tasty and would be easy to make. Anything that freezes well, too, is a winner in my book!

  5. glamorous glutton says:

    These look great, tasty and quick. The Glam Teens are all noodle lovers so this would be perfect. GG

  6. Bookmarked for very near future cooking! 😀 Yuurrrmm!! 😀

  7. Peanut noodles are so delicious. Great looking dish.

  8. This is probably my favorite salad of all, though if I made it while my husband was in town it would have to be without the shrimp…I love them and he hates them. I’m sure it’s fantastic without the shrimp, too, though! 🙂

    • Betsy, that is the beauty of adding the shrimp as a topping. My eldest ponytail isn’t terribly fond of the shrimp, so this way I can add them as needed — which means more for the rest of us! (I can’t imagine not liking shrimp!) I often make this without the shrimp because it is a bit faster, and you’re right . . . it is still very good. It is hard to keep everyone happy with our meals, isn’t it?

  9. Suzi says:

    I love the lime, sugar and peanuts and scallions, Making this tonight. Your photo looks so appetizing. Thanks

  10. Karista says:

    I could eat my weight in this kind of dish! Looks so delicious and now I’m hungry again.

    • Oh Karista, I am so with you. I really have to show self-control when it comes to pasta or noodles. If only there were no calories in carbs (sigh).

      I can’t imagine that you are hungry, after seeing the amazing cambozola pear tart on your site this morning. OMG that looked good. Heading back to your site now…

  11. I have to say I love these ingredients, it sounds exactly like the kind of meal I’d enjoy. What an awesome mum you are, serving this!!!

  12. Charles says:

    Lovely, and quick and easy, meal Barb. The shrimps look delicious. Did you try the dish before with something like egg noodles? I thought these were, when I first saw the photo, but then I realised that it’s one of those differences in British English and US/Canadian English I think. I believe pasta (spaghetti and so forth) is often referred to as noodles over there, right? While we tend to call noodles only the things which are used in Asian cookery, such as egg noodles, soba, udon etc. Egg noodles or spaghetti though, I’m sure it’s fantastic, and I can see why it’s so popular 🙂

    • Hey there Charles,
      I have used chinese noodles for my beef and broccoil recipe — and we really like them (not sure if they are egg based though…they are really curly and stringy.). I use spaghetti noodles for this dish because I always have them in and I think most people do. I guess the idea was to make it an easily accessible dish . . . something quick on a weeknight. You could definitely use any kind of noodle though — soba or udon would also be terrific — and I think you are right, these are probably the first thing that you think of when you hear the term “noodle”.

  13. My kids would love meals like this one every single day of the week. As long as there is pasta and peanut butter they won’t object if I add any other veges or ingredients

    • Yes, you’re right — pasta and peanut butter are great way to slide in other veggies. I find sprinkling cashews or peanuts on some dishes help too! It is great to share these little tips with one another — I find that it helps so much!

  14. Norma Chang says:

    Hello Barb,
    Any cooked meat or poultry (a bit of leftover spatchcoked chicken, may be) will make good substitute for the shrimp, I even toss deli ham into my peanuts noodles.

  15. Healthy, lovely and quick, gotta love that title too 🙂

  16. Tandy says:

    I love the idea of the shrimp topping – and thank you so much for the US notes on what you used 🙂

  17. Beth says:

    I don’t know what it is about noodles and peanut, but it’s a wonderful combination. What a great weeknight meal!

  18. Sissi says:

    Noodles with peanut butter! What a creative idea, Barb! I love it because I am crazy for peanuts only in savoury dishes (I also love their crunch when they are slightly grilled and sprinkled over a salad, like my last Vietnamese salad discovery). Thanks for this excellent idea. No wonder children love it! (PS Sorry for my late comment 😦 I have been on holidays until today).

    • Thanks so much Sissi. I’m glad you like the idea of adding peanut butter to this savory dish — although I imagine that you would use proper noodles instead of the spaghetti! (I think of you as an expert at Asian cuisine.) I was thinking about you and I figured that you must be on vacation, as you are one of the most consistent bloggers I know. I’m so excited to learn that you were in Japan, as I know how much you adore Japanese cuisine. Can’t wait to hear more about your adventures. I read your post this morning and will be popping by soon to comment.

  19. I appreciate any recipes that are under 30-45 minutes! This looks wonderful and my children love all kinds of noodles, so variation is a necessity to keep them interested! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

  20. Eva Taylor says:

    That Catelli Smart is pretty darn good, isn’t it? We’ve used it a few times but we just don’t each much pasta these days. We love peanut noodles but usually make it with rice noodles.
    We’re back from our two-plus weeks in Europe and it was great. Although its always nice to sleep in one’s own bed. I’ll be posting about our lovely vaycay soon. Now to get back into cooking and getting up early!

  21. albertocook says:

    I like this recipe i wont try it real soon

  22. erika says:

    Mmmmm peanut noodles are my fav!! I’m actually really bad at cooking Asian dishes, but this looks like it has all the right stuff–ginger, green onions, mirin, etc. Yum!

  23. petit4chocolatier says:

    This recipe looks delicious! I love how you added natural peanut butter 🙂


Leave a Reply

