On Friendship, Babies and Macarons . . .

Coconut Lime Macarons

There’s nothing like a new little bundle to turn your world upside down and make the simplest of tasks—like having a shower—seem as challenging as climbing Mount Kilamanjaro.

So of course I was more than happy to pitch in for Charles at Five Euro Food with a guest post after the arrival of his adorable son William—although it did take me a little while to get my act together. However, I must say that Charles seems to be coping much better than I did after the birth of my first ponytail, for he has written a couple of posts, continued with his walking adventures in and around Paris, and hosted a dinner party—all within a few short weeks of becoming a new dad. I, on the other hand, had difficulty stringing a sentence together, let alone photographing and writing about the things I was cooking in those early days of motherhood.

Shortly after I started blogging, my “real life” and blogging friend Eva from KitchenInspirations kindly wrote a post that introduced my blog to her network of blogging friends. Thanks to Eva, Charles was one of the first people that I met and in no time at all I felt like I’d known him forever . . . largely because of his thoughtful comments and blog posts that draw you in and make you feel like you’re right there in the kitchen with him, having a good ole chat and a cuppa. How many times I’ve wished that I was there so that I could sample one of his famous Swedish kaka’s (cakes) or cinnamon buns? (Trust me, too many to count.) If you are not familiar with his blog, I encourage you to check it out.

I set out to make macarons for this post, and I must admit that I came very close to losing my nerve the more I read about making this infamous French confectionery. To find out more about my macaron adventure . . . and the latest trend in fashion for babies on the streets of Paris, please pop over to Five Euro Food.

38 Comments on “On Friendship, Babies and Macarons . . .”

  1. Lovely guest post and gorgeous macarons!

    Nazneen

  2. What a fab guest post – off i go to have a proper look! Love the pictures too

  3. Sissi says:

    Congratulations, Barb! As I have already said at Charles’s blog, I’m in awe of your dexterity and baking skills. I have never dared even trying to make macarons and I would certainly never think a home baker can obtain such beautiful, neat and perfect ones. You are extraordinary and this is an amazing guest post. Charles must be proud to have such beauties on his blog.

    • Sissi, I’m blushing! Thank you for your lovely comments. I was terribly nervous about posting on Charles’ blog, especially since I often post about casual cooking, so your comments mean a lot. I’m all fired up to keep perfecting my technique. I think you might be surprized by the results if you give them a try…

  4. Great post, I’ve left a comment on Charles’ blog. Wonderful looking macarons. GG

  5. Charles says:

    Thank you again for such a beautiful post Barb, and for your very kind words! Believe me, it’s not always smoothness around here. Having a new baby is….. *very* tiring. Sometimes I just want to fall asleep on the couch after I get home. My poor wife, I don’t know how she does it… she hasn’t slept more than ~3 hours in a row for weeks! I’m cooking less at the moment, that’s for sure… and McDonalds is getting plenty of custom from us right now (I know… I’m so ashamed!).

    Great job with the macarons though… they look so professional and I’d never have guessed you hadn’t been making them for many years, they’re that good-looking!

    • Ooooooh, yes. Those first few weeks when you are up every three hours for feedings are really gruelling. I used to set a timer in the early days when you need to feed whether the baby is screaming or not. Fortunately things do ease up a bit later on …but it is really hard functioning on so little sleep. The very fact that you understand how hard it is lends great support — it really does.

      I’m sure it is not always smooth, but you really are doing a great job of keeping a lot of balls in the air. Looking forward to more stories and pictures as William grows.

  6. Carol says:

    These look beautiful, Barb!  As always, I love your great photos too.  I know you were busy with your Thanksgiving weekend and anniversary plans, but I missed getting your blog on Monday – ALWAYS look forward to it to start my week and get your great recipes. Keep them coming!!

    • Hopefully I didn’t disappoint you this week — I was thinking of you when I was hesitating on Sunday night (as I was running a bit behind schedule in getting the girls to bed). Thanks again for all of your support Carol!

  7. A_Boleyn says:

    I look forward to going to Charles’ blog and seeing your macarons. They look lovely and are one of the things on my food ‘bucket list’ of things to try one day after my first attempt failed. They tasted good, just bore no resemblance to macarons … more like almond meringues. 🙂

  8. Norma Chang says:

    I am a regular visitor at Charles blog also and am off to FiveEuroFoods to check out your recipe,

  9. These look incredible and how exciting for Charles 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  10. Kristy says:

    LOL…yep, Charles is much more organized as a new dad than I was as a new mom. Heck, he’s even more organized than me now! 😉

  11. Eva Taylor says:

    What a wonderful guest post Barb, and as I said before the macarons are incredible…hope you saved a few for JT and I…after all, didn’t I transport a few thousands of miles for you? 😉 The macarons look perfect and after reading your post, it makes me want to try it too, but I’ll have to have an event to do so as having dozens of these delicious creations around would be too dangerous!

  12. Saskia says:

    Great post! Can’t wait to make these. Thanks for introducing us to another lovely food blog too. Barb, I think you might enjoy this song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1wg_L0wGTyA

  13. Ali says:

    Great post! Love macarons, but am yet to make them. I took one look at the recipe and decided I would need off work to perfect them!

  14. So sweet of you to help Charles out at this time and you are so brave to take on macaroons. I am still trying to find the courage to! heading over to your wonderful guest post

  15. I had so much fun reading your post over on Charles’ blog! I was and am so impressed that you tried and were a runaway success at making macarons.. they scare the daylights out of me, lol! I especially enjoyed scrolling through and almost screamed when I saw the photo of Eva and Charles munching on them!! Awesome!! How cool is that.. you girls are amazing!! xx

  16. Barb, your macaroons are so professional looking! Truly they look like they came from a French patisserie. Bravo to you, and now I will continue playing catch up and go see your guest post at Charles’ blog. Happy Weekend to you!

  17. beccysfoodies says:

    wowowowowow they looks so good!! i just found your blog – and almost every recipe on here i want to make!! 🙂

  18. Tandy says:

    Lovely recipe to do as a guest post 🙂

  19. Beth says:

    Looking forward to reading your guest post!

    After my babies were born, I was eating whatever I could make in a hurry. Although I do remember baking a cake from scratch when my second was three weeks old, and later wondering, “What was I thinking?”

  20. Yum!
    Coconut and lime macarons – couldn’t think of any better flavour combination!
    Sounds like some tropical paradise…

    Thanks for sharing!
    Please check us out at http://www.honeyandlulu.blogspot.com.au – we didn’t attempt our own macarons too long ago! And they were not an easy process!!!

    Chloe & Sarah

  21. Karista says:

    Beautiful macaroons Barb! And what beautiful photos. Ah, yes, the birth of a new baby is both exciting, adventurous and exhausting. 🙂 or at least it was for me. I will have to click on over and check out the blog. Hope you’re doing well!

  22. daisyandthefox says:

    they look terrific and so perfect!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

