Moose Tracks Ice Cream Pie

For the past several summers, we’ve rented a beachfront cottage at Turkey Point, Lake Erie. Turkey Point is a lovely little beach town with a long stretch of beach and shallow water, which is great for young kids. One of the first things that we do after we arrive and get settled is make the two-minute walk to Grandma’s Ice Cream for some Moose Tracks Ice Cream. It’s a big family favorite and I look forward to it every year. (Okay simple things make me happy.)

I’ve been baking with mini peanut butter cups for the past few weeks and I keep trying to come up with new ways to use them. It didn’t take long for my thoughts to turn to Turkey Point and my favorite ice cream. Wouldn’t it make a great ice cream pie?  I made it a couple of times, tweaking things each time and landed on this version. It’s quite addictive—especially if you LOVE peanut butter cups.

Moose Tracks Ice Cream Pie

  • 1-1/2 cups crushed chocolate wafers (33/34 wafers finely crushed in a food processor)
  • ¼ cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1-1/4 cups mini peanut butter cups
  • 3 oz semi-sweet chocolate
  • 6 cups vanilla ice cream
  • 5 tbsp chocolate syrup homemade (see below) or store-bought

 Directions

  1. If making homemade chocolate syrup, make it first using the recipe below and refrigerate until well chilled.
  2. Mix the chocolate wafers and melted butter until moistened. Press firmly into bottom and up the sides of a glass 9-inch pie plate. Refrigerate for 30 minutes until firm.
  3. Chop the peanut butter cups (in half or quarters pending size) and 2 oz of the semi-sweet chocolate in chunks and set aside.
  4. Drizzle half of the chocolate syrup on the bottom of the chocolate crust (2-1/2 tbsp)
  5. Let ice cream sit at room temperature for 5 minutes. Measure ice cream into a large bowl and mix in peanut butter cups and chocolate chunks until well incorporated.
  6. Add half of the ice cream mixture to the pie crust and flatten down with a spoon.
  7. Drizzle remaining half of chocolate syrup over ice cream.
  8. Carefully add remaining ice cream and flatten down with a spoon.
  9. Grate the remaining 1 oz of chocolate over the top of the pie until well covered. (You won’t likely need the whole ounce of chocolate–I used less than 1/2.)
  10. Cover with plastic wrap.
  11. Freeze until firm (about 3 hours).
  12. Serve with chocolate syrup drizzled on top or on plate.

Fudge Ripple
(From The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz)

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup light corn syrup
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 6 tablespoons unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Whisk together the sugar, corn syrup, water, and cocoa in a small saucepan. Heat over medium heat until boiling, stirring frequently, then let boil for a minute. Remove from heat and stir in the vanilla.  Cover and refrigerate.

 TIPS:

  • The Fudge Ripple chocolate sauce was REALLY easy to make. The recipe makes quite a bit more than you’ll need, but you can use the left-over syrup to make chocolate milk and ice cream sundaes (with sprinkles of course). It keeps in the fridge for a week or two.
  • I used Mr. Christie chocolate wafers to make the crust — one package is plenty, with a few wafers left over.
  • This is best made the day before you want to serve it.

39 Comments on “Moose Tracks Ice Cream Pie”

  1. Kristy says:

    Very clever! I can’t imagine making something nearly this decadent, let alone with ice cream! 🙂

  2. Charles says:

    This looks great Barb – I love all those fabulous bits of PB cup peeking out, and the crust… yummy!

    I bet this makes a fabulous dessert. We can’t get PB cups over here so I’d have to swap them for something different – maybe if I chopped up a candy bar, like Snickers or something?

    • It was yummy Charles! You could definitely chop up a candy bar like a snickers or an Oh Henry (do you have those?) Any type of chocolate bar would work very well, depending on your preferences. My husband and girls are big PB fans, which is one of the reasons I’m always looking for new ways to use them.

  3. Moose Tracks is Paul’s favourite ice cream, so I will have to bookmark this recipe for when they come for a visit at the end of the month. I just saw the mini pb cups in an ad, it’s about time they started selling them retail. I can hardly wait to see what else you’ve made with them!

    • Hope you have a great visit with Paul and T. Those new mini PB cups are the ones I used — it is great that they are finally available. I used the PC mini PB cups first (they are quite small) but they didn’t have the same effect. Next time I went into the Lowblaws, there they were (the Reese’s brand). Let me know how you like it, if you make it Eva.

  4. Sissi says:

    Your ice-cream pie looks gorgeous! I have never made any ice-cream, not to mention ice-cream cake or pie, but I remember when I was a child a friend of mine used to have an ice-cream birthday cake every year and I loved it!
    Cold desserts are so irresistible and addictive… and they always seem lighter than they really are, so they make one feel less guilty 😉

    • You are right Sissi, cold desserts do seem lighter….and can be dangerous for that reason! I’ve made homemade ice cream before, but I wouldn’t put it in a pie after all that effort. The store-bought worked quite nicely. That gives me the idea to do an ice cream post one day. Thanks Sissi!

  5. I was in my lab prac at uni yesterday, and I opened this to see it… and later when my teacher came by, I think he raised an eyebrow… “what brings ice cream pie to graphic design?!” he must have thought!

    Looks absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing (and the embarrassment – I think I was caught on camera drooling)

    • Your comment made me smile Fati! The last thing I’d want is to get you into trouble in class! Hopefully you are settling back into uni? It must be hard juggling the blog and school at the same time? Good luck with school and thanks for your kind comments.

      • Thank you! I’m getting there…sort of forgotten how to study… 😉 Yes it’s hard to keep up with both… so sometimes I have to put aside my love of blogging and get studying. I’m hoping to have a post up by the end of this week, though! 🙂

  6. […] My friend Barb, Profiteroles and Ponytails, just because. And I’m dying to have a slice of that Moose Tracks Ice Cream Pie! […]

  7. A_Boleyn says:

    Gorgeously decadent pie. Reminds me of the chocolate, caramel and roasted peanut treats my brother used to make for his chocolate store.

    • Thanks so much for your comment! Boy, those treats sure sound good — I’m hungry just thinking about them. You must have been the envy of all of your friends to have a chocolate store in the family!

      • A_Boleyn says:

        I was an adult by that time and all my female friends seemed to be on diets so I had to sample the new treats he came up with on my own. (Such a hardship!).

        Though I seemed to prefer the candied orange peels dipped in bittersweet chocolate and the mini-pretzels coated in white chocolate to the more exotic ice-wine truffles and chocolate covered strawberries that he made in season. The customers were always SO excited when the chocolatier dropped in to make a special delivery as his kitchen was off-site.

  8. Mercedes B. Vescovi says:

    Jay is on his way to your house right now to steal the pie from your fridge!!!!

  9. I think a slice of an ice cream pie just might be the perfect dessert in my book. And the fact that this one has peanut butter cups in it AND home made chocolate syrup just sends it into the stratosphere. Bliss, Barb.

    • Into the stratosphere — wow, that is high praise indeed Betsy. Thanks so much for your kind words. You have to love it when something is easy to make and tasty. Although the chocolate syrup is an extra little step. I’d never made it before and was surprized how simple it was to make.

  10. hotlyspiced says:

    What a great name for a pie! And it looks amazing. That place where you stay sounds idyllic. xx

  11. Karen says:

    That pie will surely make everyone smile who gets to taste it.

  12. Tara says:

    You are seriously too creative! It looks amazing!

  13. Great idea and I am a big fan of PB cups so I know that I’d love this 😀

  14. We have Moosetracks ice cream here (proximity to the Rocky Mountains).. I would love to try making this for my family! Just found your blog and am now a follower:) I can’t wait to see what else you’ve got cooking here!

    • Thanks so much for stopping by! I spent a couple summers in the rockies — so it is a place near and dear to my heart. I’ll be sure to stop by your blog shortly to see what you have cooking in your kitchen.

  15. Purely.. Kay says:

    I just feel like this was made just for me lol. I can just make this and eat it all myself.. but I won’t lol. I can’t wait to make this

  16. Kiran says:

    LOVE ice cream in every possible form 😀

    BTW, thanks for visiting my blog with such lovely comments 🙂

  17. […] Just last week my friend Barb (of Profiteroles and Ponytails) posted an old family recipe for Moose Tracks Ice Cream Pie…and as luck would have it, our good friends Paul and T (remember Rock Star Bus? Well they are […]

  18. […] his favourite and I’ve been looking for ways to incorporate them into my desserts (like the Moose Tracks Ice Cream Pie). This recipe was fun to make with the girls because they could peel the peanut butter cups from […]

  19. Tara Noland says:

    That looks so good!! I want a slice!!!


Leave a comment