Cheese “Crackies”

Cheese Crackers

I’m going to date myself. Do you remember that 80s Faberge Organics Shampoo Commercial where Heather Locklear says she told two friends about this fab shampoo, and they told two friends, and so on, and so on, and so on . . . ? (What, you weren’t born yet? Then click here and see the giggle-worthy commercials that us oldies grew up with.)

Anyway, this is how things went with my mom recently. She tried these cheesey, sorta but not quite crackers, at a friend’s place and couldn’t stop talking about them. Her other friends were intrigued. Then they tried them. Now a few of mom’s friends have requested the recipe and so did I.  Your (rotary dial) phone line was busy, so I thought I’d be all new age and post the recipe here so that you can check them out. Then you can tell your friends, and so on. Get the idea?

The source of this cheesey kinda cracker-like recipe is mom’s friend Raymond, who goes to her church. Apparently Raymond has been making these cheesey bites for about 40 years and it’s one of his most requested recipes. Raymond is someone who really knows his way around the kitchen and has catered countless dinner parties over the years. While I’ve never met Raymond, my mom raves about his cooking abilities, so he’s got my vote of confidence.

I hope that Raymond doesn’t mind, but I’ve adapted his recipe–mostly because his secret ingredient, MacLaren’s Imperial Cold Pack Cheddar, is only available in Canada. I’ve also renamed them “crackies” because I’d describe them as a cross between a cracker and a cookie. And, I’ve spiced them up with rosemary and a sprinkle of fleur de sel, even though I usually make half the batch plain to keep the ponytails happy. My oldest daughter likes to take them for her school snack.

Rosemary Crackies

Cheese “Crackies”

Yield: approx 50 crackers

1/2 cup vegetable oil + 1 tbsp olive oil

1 cup flour

2 cups tightly packed grated old cheddar (orange)

1 tbsp Worchestershire sauce

t tsp dry mustard

2 cups rice crispies, crushed

2 tsp finely chopped fresh rosemary + a few unchopped rosemary sprigs

fleur de sel for sprinkling

Pulse all ingredients in food processor until mixture is smooth and well mixed; roll into balls the size of a quarter and flatten with a fork dipped in water. Bake at 350 degrees for 8 to 10 minutes.

Place one small sprig of rosemary and a pinch of fleur de sel (or sea salt) on top of each “crackie” after it has been flattened with a fork.

The crackies freeze beautifully. Reheat at 350 degrees for 8 minutes.

Raymond’s Original Version:

Imperial CheeseFollow the instructions noted above, except replace the 2 tightly packed cups of grated old cheddar with one container of MacLaren’s Imperial Cold Pack Cheddar and do not add one extra tablespoon of vegetable oil (total amount of vegetable oil will be 1/2 cup) or the chopped fresh rosemary and fleur de sel.

NOTES:

  • For crispy crackies, be sure to press them down well with a fork dipped in water until they are quite thin.
  • To retain the crispness, they are best stored in a tin container, rather than plastic. Mom likes to freeze any uneaten crackies and crisp them up again in the oven before serving.
  • If you live in Canada, I recommend trying this recipe using the Imperial cheese. Just eliminate the extra tablespoon of vegetable oil. The rosemary and fleur de sel are optional.

42 Comments on “Cheese “Crackies””

  1. I remember that commercial…I don’t even have to go and see it! I also remember a similar crispy cracker to these, but I do like your addition of rosemary and fleur de sel. I could see even adding a tiny pinch of cayenne. Your version sounds perfect and I’m bookmarking it for the next time I need to make some cheesy bites. I know they will be delicious! Hope all is well with you and yours, Barb. xo Betsy

  2. Saskia (1=2) says:

    Pinned this recipe Barb – I’m definitely making them. My youngest likes sweet snacks in his lunchbox (banana cake, muffins, carrot cake) whereas the eldest prefers savoury things and usually ends up with crackers and cheese, boringly enough. He is going to LOVE these. I haven’t seen the Heather Locklear commercial, but I’m off to have a squiz now (always up for some distraction at work)!

    • That is so funny — my youngest has the BIGGEST sweet tooth EVER whereas my oldest could go either way. Let me know what you think of the commercial. It really was one of the most well known commercials of my youth…although when I went to look for it I thought it was for Wella Balsalm …oops.

  3. Lusiana Njo says:

    I love savoury cookies & simple recipes like this one, just mix everything together & bake. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  4. Savoury cookies are not my forte but this looks brilliant 🙂
    Fabulous photos!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. Lovely cheese crackers! I am now going to date myself as I remember that commercial like it was yesterday. I will be sure to tell at least 2 friends.

  6. Shweta D'souza says:

    They look so delicious!

    I posted an article on different types of cakes. Why not choose your favorite cake? 😉

    Choose Your Favorite Cake

  7. Love the title and your “crackies: sound delicious.

  8. These sound so much better than the boxed storebrand!

  9. These look mouthwatering. So surprised by the rice crispies – I will try these as they sound and look delicious.

  10. glamorous glutton says:

    I remember that advert. These look delicious and pretty with the sprig of rosemary on top. GG

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    “Crackies” Gotta love ’em if for no other reason than the name. I’ve made a couple crackers and was amazed how much better tasting they were over store-bought. These, with their rice crispies, must be fantastic! Thanks, Barb, for sharing a great recipe.

  12. ohlidia says:

    I so remember that commercial! These crackies sound fabulous!

  13. Oh dear. I remember that commercial too.
    These crackies look wonderful! My children love to dip stuff so I am sure they would really enjoy dunking these.

    Nazneen

  14. Carol Deschenes says:

    I LOVE this recipe and will make it on the weekend. We are big Imperial cheese fans. Did you ever use it in your cheese sauce over broc and cauli?

    Hope you had a nice bday celebration.

    XO Carol

  15. Charles says:

    Those look fantastic Barb – I’m totally going to make them this weekend! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! You can tell Raymond (or tell your mother to tell him) that they’ll even be put to the (taste)test in France… and Sweden some day too if they’re as good as they sound. There’s a delicious cheese from the North of Sweden which I think would work incredibly well in these: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/V%C3%A4sterbotten_cheese – yum! I’ll let you know how they turn out!

  16. Kristy says:

    Ooh these sound so good. This is my ideal evening snack. 🙂 I like the name you gave them too. And if the ponies are fans, I know Mr. N and Miss A will too. Have a good week. I’m looking forward to the weekend!

    • I am really looking forward to seeing you guys! I just wish things weren’t so hectic! Sounds like it must be for you too, since you’re activities and school have already wrapped up for the year. Everything goes until end of June here…so we are still in the thick of it! See you Saturday!

  17. Norma Chang says:

    I prefer savory snacks/cookies over sweet ones, this one is definitely for me,

  18. gotasté says:

    I would like to bring these to work…munch in the bus (though it’s against the law in S’pore)…walking along the streets, eat it with a glass of milk before bed…with cola when I am reading…in the park when I am doing nothing…in the cinema…share some with good friends only…and keep all the rest for myself. These are my fave of all time and now…I’ve stolen the recipe from you..hehehe 🙂
    Thanks for sharing,
    Danny

  19. Karen says:

    Love the name of your “crackies”…I make something similar but love your rosemary addition.

  20. Eva Taylor says:

    This recipe is very similar to the cheez-itz I’ve made a few times with the exception of the seasonings! The strong flavour of cheddar comes through very nicely; thanks for developing a version with real cheese, always my preference.
    I do remember that commercial, crazy! It’s pretty amazing how marketing has changed. And no, we’re not old, just experienced!

  21. Wow – these look dangerously good 🙂 The kind you get addicted to very easily!
    Thanks for sharing!

  22. laurasmess says:

    These look delicious Barb! I can imagine how addictive they would be (I love cheese snacks, probably a bit too much!) and the name ‘Crackies’ makes them even more appealing! Your adaptation is gorgeous. Yay for Raymond’s initial innovation and your lovely interpretation. I’ll be making these soon (but giving some away, or I think I’d eat them all!) xx

  23. Sounds fancy lil sweet bites….
    you should have your own brand of cookies”crackies”

  24. Fig & Quince says:

    Ha ha, I remember that commercial! Love the name “crackies” and that crackies tower -yum! I really hope to find time to make this. I would like to.

  25. Alex says:

    Yum…. I love all things cheese, but this one is a keeper!

  26. Hi there! I so remember that commercial and was completely jealous and frustrated everytime me and my curly head had to watch it.
    I’ve not made a lot of crackers and this looks like a good recipe to try.
    cheers… wendy

  27. Great post 😀 Love the idea of the crackies…I think that they would be quite popular with our little ones as well!

  28. Amanda says:

    haha. i wasn’t born yet! and that’s such a cute name – crackies! 🙂 makes me smile just saying it aloud!

  29. Hey 🙂 I’ve nominated your blog for the Liebster award. I think your blog is fantastic and has really great ideas 🙂 I love the recipes. Head over to my blog for details http://littlemuffinblog.wordpress.com/ (It’s my most recent post)

  30. […] to today’s recipe – I saw this posted on Barb’s blog Profiteroles and Ponytails back in the beginning of June and I […]

  31. Yum! I love the look of these. Could I eat them with more cheese?!

  32. These look beautifully delicious! They are on the list for the next time we have friends in to eat. thanks!

  33. I love this sort of “cookie”.. I think I’ve made something sort of like it because I remember that Red Tub.. maybe my mom made them then I passed them on to my cousin, who passed them on to her friend at work.. and so on and so on;) I can’t wait to have a dinner party and make these, the rosemary would be wonderful in them!

  34. Fig & Quince says:

    You are due for a new post my dear. Your ardent fans await.

  35. Hello! I just wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for a Liebster Blog Award. You will see from my original posting of this that it was a little over a month ago. Apologies for my delay in contacting you. I was on holidays and it just completely slipped my mind. Hope you can forgive me. And thank you for your very enjoyable blog! -Emer. xx

    I love all your pictures, they’re great.

    • Thank you very much for this. I’m afraid that I’ve been taking a little break from blogging the past couple of months because of my schedule. I’m hoping to get back into the swing of things in the fall. In the meantime, I do appreciate your nomination!!!

  36. These look fantastic! I love me a savory cookie 🙂 somehow it makes them that much more addictive but “allowed” at the same time (girl logic!).

  37. Whoa baby. This sounds incredible. I think I would still eat them with cheese 😛

  38. Dina says:

    Yummy – I love them. Great photos too! 🙂

  39. These look so yummy! Just found your blog- looking forward to reading more!


Leave a comment