The Best Kind of Cheer

Eggnog Martini

Eggnog Martini

There’s no way around it. This time of year is hectic for all of us. I mean that in a “non-stop list of things that need to be done to make your life festive” kind of way.

Evenings and weekends have become a blur of shopping, wrapping, baking, decorating (inside and out) and organizing gifts for teachers and caregivers. The day-to-day parts of life don’t go anywhere either–the laundry, grocery shopping, meal preparation and chauffeuring services–they all need to be taken care of as well.

I guess that I’ve given you a hint to what my weekend was like. It was jam-packed, but I must admit it was fun-filled as well. One of the more unusual tasks was the time I spent assembling and altering a very special costume. You see, I’m on a first name basis with Fritz from the play Beauty and the Beast put on by a group of young people in our neighbourhood.

Behind the scenes with Fritz from Beauty and the Beast and her younger sister.

But all that costume prep was well worth it because it was a very special and memorable production. You can see for yourself. Here’s Fritz in action:

SONY DSC

Fritz (far left-hand side) in action during a Beauty and the Beast performance.

So obviously there are some rewards to all of this work. But, there’s another reward that I look forward to at the end of a long day . . . the holiday cocktail.

It’s the best kind of cheer, isn’t it? My new favourite holiday cocktail is an Eggnog Martini. I love eggnog, but I’m not a huge fan of rum and eggnog. Made with Amaretto and Vodka, this martini is a great alternative. My husband and I had these while we trimmed the tree last week, and then again tonight after we returned home from the big performance. I think it’ll become a holiday tradition for years to come.

Hope that you can find time to put up your feet, relax and enjoy the best kind of cheer.

SONY DSC

Eggnog Martini

Adapted from Single Minded Women

  • 1 ounce Amaretto
  • 3/4 ounce Vodka
  • 3.5 ounce eggnog
  • pinch of nutmeg

Add ice, eggnog, vodka and Amaretto to a martini shaker. Shake for a minute. Pour into martini glass. Sprinkle with nutmeg. Makes 1. Repeat as many times as necessary.


36 Comments on “The Best Kind of Cheer”

  1. Haha you deserve an award during this time, as fun as it is 🙂
    This drink looks gorgeous!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    At the end of a hectic day, one of these would hit the spot. Cute Fritz. 🙂

  3. Ali says:

    I’ve never tried eggnog. Is that horrible of me to admit!! Even when I was in Houston at this time last year, I never tried it….I do like the sound of the Amaretto and the Vodka though 😉
    It is a ridiculously busy time of year…and even when you try to slow things down, something pops up. But, it is a fun time of year too. The weather is heating up over here and things are starting to look a little festive. Hope you get a chance to put your feet up some in the next few weeks!

  4. albertocook says:

    …. beautifull girls and good drink…. 🙂

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    You parents are busy enough throughout the year. Tossing in a holiday like Christmas is a cruel prank by The Fates. And you even found time to play seamstress and audience member! I don’t know how you do it.
    I’m a fan of Amaretto and vanilla vodka (Godmothers) and so this cocktail is right up my alley! It is definitely going into mo must try file. 🙂 Thanks!

  6. oh that sounds positively naughty AND nice!!

  7. Your little pony tails are just gorgeous! You must be a very proud mama of your little actress ponytail. Whew! after a weekend like that one of these little cocktails would be perfect.

  8. This sounds amazing! Life has become sooooo busy, and a holiday cocktail would definitely go down a treat!

  9. Norma Chang says:

    You sure did a fantastic job with the costume. Did you make the cap also? Don’t know how you manage to get everything done and still have time to blog.

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    How fun, I’m sure your oldest ponytail was great in the show (I wouldn’t be surprised if she stole the show, considering the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree). What a lovely cocktail, did you use the new PC eggnog (it comes in a very cool old fashioned-ish milk container). It’s too bad I am not a big sweet cocktail drinker, otherwise I would love this.

  11. Jorie says:

    Yum! Looks delicious, and the perfect thing to sip on after a long day!

  12. Kristy says:

    Sounds about how are weekend was too! This time of year is so busy – and like you said on top of the already usual kind of busy. Looks like you had a great performance to check out this weekend though! How fun! I just love watching the kids perform. This sounds like a great drink idea for the holidays. I too don’t really care for eggnog and rum, but this sounds like a delicious alternative. Glad you’re making time to put your feet up. We all need to do that! 🙂

  13. What a clever girl…you and your ponytail! How cute she is in that costume and how adorable they both are. I feel challenged by the holidays and have no children so I bow to you…and this cocktail looks like so much fun. A must try! Glad you’re finding time to enjoy the season.

  14. Jeanette says:

    Sounds absolutely delicious. Can’t wait to give these a whirl:). By the way, the photo you took of the martini is magazine perfect! Really gorgeous:)

  15. Sounds like a great drink!

  16. Doris says:

    I have to try this it looks delicious.

  17. glamorous glutton says:

    Great tradition, egg nogg martini definitely one for Mr Glam. GG

  18. Karen says:

    Your martini has to be delicious…I think I’ll have to buy some eggnog.

  19. petit4chocolatier says:

    Beautiful post! Beautiful girls! Beautiful writing! And Beautiful drink! Wow, I must try this 🙂

  20. Sarah says:

    Whew! I will hereby not complain about my “hectic” December. 🙂 I’m glad you’re having fun on top of being so busy 🙂 Thank you SO much for sharing one of your rewards, that sounds sooooo yummy!

  21. So true–I love your spirit, though…great addition with the nutmeg =)

  22. Sissi says:

    It does look like a very festive drink. I don’t know if it’s the pinch of nutmeg or your lovely decoration… I see you are also a fan of cashew nuts 😉 I buy them in one-kilo bags and love them as snacks but also toasted and added to stir-fries.

  23. how cute! I love this. The whole thing screams festive!

  24. It is such a special time with kids 🙂 your girls are SO cute!!!
    Love the egg nogg martini!

  25. Tandy says:

    Sounds like a well deserved cocktail Barb 🙂

  26. Sophie33 says:

    This cocktail calls my name & mouth! Your children look lovely! Good on you, Frtiz! You did your mom & dad proud!

  27. So festive and delicious! And such happy girls 🙂

  28. Nicole says:

    Always lovely pictures!
    This eggnog looks amazing

    xx

  29. Charles says:

    I gotta admit – I too have never had eggnog. I was offered some when I was about 14 by my Aunt and when she told me what it was I found the very concept of it so utterly repulsive that I graciously declined her offer. Now though I see people talking about it all the time and keep wishing I’d tried it…. sigh, oh well. Beautiful looking cocktail though, and those photos are so cute! Hope you’re all enjoying the festive season so far Barb!

  30. Christmas cheer & eggnog, the perfect combination for a great holiday. Being from a Chinese family we rarely drink this at Christmas (but) is it bad to say I’ve tried it from a carton 😉 I think I’ll have to pool all my favourite festive recipes for when I get back from overseas and an Amaretto style eggnog sounds perfect!

    Have a wonderful holiday and enjoy the rest of 2012!

  31. Oh yum! This looks awesome. Tyler can’t wait to make eggnog for Christmas. My family don’t get into it that much. It’s not really an Aussie thing. Raw eggs on a 40C day.. no thanks!

  32. Ali says:

    Hi Barb! I’ve nominated you for a Kreativ Blogger Award: Love your blog! Hope you’re having a wonderful, stress-free lead up to Christmas 🙂 http://yorkesgirl.com/2012/12/21/7-random-things-about-me/

  33. Lilly Sue says:

    This looks delicious!! Glad you sat back for a moment to enjoy this drink 🙂

  34. Saskia (1=2) says:

    I missed this post somehow Barb. It’s a ripper. Eggnog and Fritz! Your daughter’s costume looks gorgeous. Very impressed with your sewing ability. (I got off lightly this year – my son was a druid in his school play, which involved wearing a brown sack)!
    Absolutely love your eggnog photo – I could do with one of those right now. Have a lovely Christmas. xx

  35. Karista says:

    Oh how I need one of these tonight! 🙂 Your ponytails are just adorable!

  36. musingmar says:

    Now, that’s a fun recipe!


Leave a comment