“There Are No Words . . .”

SONY DSC

“There are no words to describe how good this is,” said my husband after just one bite of the Nutella Molten Lava Cakes that I made for a dinner party over the holidays. One of the ponytails was quick to follow up with: “This is the best dessert ever!”

So, it is without hesitation that I recommend this recipe to you as one to make when you want to impress and delight your dinner guests. Your guests will love the luscious chocolately goodness that oozes onto your plate and melts in your mouth. You will love how easy it is to make.

Now, I have to say that I’m all for making my husband happy these days. He really hit the ball out of the park on Christmas morning with a beautiful new automated cappaccino maker and the Larousse Gastronomique Culinary Encyclopedia. Both items were a complete surprize, as I had forgotten all about the book recommendations that many of you left on the blog post for my book giveaway in November. I owe a special thanks to Tandy from Lavender and Lime for recommending this book. It’s nice to know that my husband reads the blog, isn’t it?

SONY DSC

From what I’ve read so far, this book is a must-have for foodies. Packed with recipes, tips and detailed explanations, it is regarded as the French cooking bible. In fact, Julia Child once wrote, “If I were allowed only one reference book in my library, Larousse Gastronomique would be it, without question.”

I’m sure that this book will successfully keep me out of trouble for countless hours this year and I promise to share a few highlights with you.

In the meantime, I’ll be able to keep up with working by day and blogging by night thanks to my convenient new source of caffeine! (I must tell you that I’m addicted to cappuccinos!)

Our dinner guests Tammy and Les asked for the recipe for these Nutella Molten Lava Cakes, so this post is really for them. They both enjoyed these molten lava cakes and liked that the recipe is no fuss, no muss. (The microwave conveniently melts the butter, chocolate chips and Nutella for you and then you just have to stir in the remaining ingredients.) The recipe is from my new favourite cookbook Savory Sweet Life, which my mom gave me for Christmas along with Ina Garten’s Foolproof.  I’d say all around I’m a pretty lucky foodie, wouldn’t you? (Remember, my husband reads this blog . . .)

Molten Lava Cakes

Nutella Molten Lava Cakes

Makes 12 cakes; recipe from Savory Sweet Life

Cakes

10 tablespoons (1-1/4 sticks) unsalted butter

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/3 cup Nutella (chocolate-hazelnut spread)

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1- 1/4 cups confectioners’ sugar

3 large eggs

3 egg yolks

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Garnish

confectioners’ sugar

Nutella

Whole hazelnuts, toasted

fresh strawberry slices

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a 12-cup muffin tin with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. Place the butter, chocolate chips and Nutella in a large microwave-safe bowl. Heat the mixture in the microwave for 60 seconds, and then in three 30-second increments, stirring it until smooth after each interval. Stir the flour and confectioners’ sugar into the chocolate-butter mixture. Mix in the eggs and egg yolks, one at a time. Add the vanilla and mix until combined.
  3. Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups, filling them about three-quarters full. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes, or until the edges are firm but the centres are still soft.
  4. Allow the cakes to cool in the pan for 3 minutes to set up. Run a knife around the edges to loosen the cakes and invert them onto a cutting board. Transfer each cake to a serving plate. Lightly dust confectioners’ sugar over each one, followed by a dollop of Nutella, a hazelnut and strawberry half (optional).

Notes:

  • Molten lava batter can be made up to a week in advance. Spoon the batter into the muffin tin and cover it with plastic wrap. Store it in the refrigerator until you’re ready to bake them. Set the muffin tin on the counter while the oven is preheating. The baking time will be the same.
  • Because I only needed six of these cakes for my dinner party, I scooped the batter for six cakes into my muffin tin to cook that day and the remaining batter into six small ramekins to store in the fridge for a later date. This worked well. I just found that the cakes in the ramekins needed to cook for a minute or two longer than they day that I first made them.

82 Comments on ““There Are No Words . . .””

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    Rich and decadent. 🙂

  2. Saskia (1=2) says:

    This looks seriously beautiful and decadent Barb. Love that there were leftovers too! You are one lucky lady – what an excellent, thoughtful husband! I’m popping that book on my birthday wish-list. Can never have too many cookbooks, and I think I need that one.

  3. Scrambled Megs says:

    The perfect looking dessert. Well done x

  4. Tandy says:

    I’m so glad you got the Larousse. And thanks for the link love! I’m on an elimination diet so as soon as I can have nuts I will try this recipe 🙂

  5. erika says:

    These sound absolutely FANTASTIC and what a nice husband you have 🙂 You sure caught my attention with the title of this post and it was definitely worth the read! I know what I’ll be making for my next dinner party, for sure 🙂

  6. These do look pretty irresistible! We need to have some friends in for dinner so I have an excuse to make them. thanks for the recipe!

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    I don’t know of anyone that doesn’t love a molten lava cake for dessert. These, made with Nutella, must taste fantastic! Good, too, that they can be made days in advance and refrigerated. It makes them so much more convenient.
    I’m going to “pin” the recipe so that I can find it when needed. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks for pinning this John! The whole reason that I selected this recipe was because they could be made in advance and refrigerated, which is really what you need for a dinner party, isn’t it? The Nutella is a great addition to the molten lava cake — I really recommend it!

  8. The Life of Clare says:

    Sounds absolutely delicious!

  9. Caddie says:

    Oh my word! That looks delightfully evil! YUM supreme!

  10. Anne says:

    That looks heaven! And I’m sure I’ll be speechless after taking a bite. Thanks for sharing Barb.

  11. I can see why he was absolutely so speechless 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  12. petit4chocolatier says:

    Oh my…, speechless is correct. This looks over the top delicious on every level imaginable. I wish I took take a bite right now!! Great book recommendation too 🙂

  13. YUM, just….yum. they sound amazing

  14. underthebluegumtree says:

    Ditto everyone else. YUMMMMM!

  15. Norma Chang says:

    Looks so lucious! You know by now, that I am a chocoholic. This sure is my my kind of cake. My “to make” list is getting very long.

  16. Yuuuummm and bookmarked! 😛

  17. Doris says:

    It looks like heaven…I have to try this, I love anything with nutella, and that third picture omg no words.

  18. Eva Taylor says:

    Great idea to get the Nutella in there Barb, so decadent. If you have a Zellers near by, they’re winding down for the Target take over, I saw the had Nutella on sale. We hope that this dessert will be served at one of the dinners we get invited to ;).

  19. You are a lucky girl indeed 🙂
    I love molten chocolate cakes and I can’t wait to try this one.
    Pinned to try as soon as I get Nutella 🙂

  20. Karen says:

    I’m trying to be good with my eating because of cookies, fruitcake and truffles over the holidays but I think you are going to lead to my delinquency with the lava cakes. 🙂

    • Karen, I understand completely. The cookies, fruitcake, truffles and whatever else was around has lead to an overhaul of my eating habits in January. I made this before I reformed my ways….but it may lead to my next delinquency too! Here’s to a somewhat healthier start to the year!

  21. Lilly Sue says:

    Oh my goodness, I would love this!! Yum yumm!!!

  22. Yes. These are going on the post sugar break list. I LOVE nutella but it’s dangerous for me to have on hand as it’s just too easy to stick a spoon or finger in the jar… all day everyday.
    What excellent presents. Larousse is a must for the baseline. And an expresso maker. Sweet!

    • You are right — it is very dangerous to have on hand. I can’t imagine starting my day with it on toast like the ads suggest …I wouldn’t fit any of my clothes! I’m on a sugar break too…although I haven’t been 100% with it. How is it going for you?

      • I’m on day 15 of no refined sugar, processed foods or wheat and will really try to make it through the month of January but I’m already feeling my willpower begin to splinter. I am eating honey and maple syrup so that takes up a huge amount of slack.

  23. I think I’d be speechless too!

  24. MMMmmm….no words indeed!

  25. NickkiT says:

    Oh my word this looks amazing! Anything with nutella is a winner with me 🙂

  26. Nicole da Rosa says:

    Really, looks like the most tasty dessert ever!

  27. Beth says:

    Wow … those look sensational!

  28. thisismelly says:

    Oh yum! It looks like it would put you into a sweet sweet chocolate coma!
    Great presentation – looks amazing & restaurant-worthy!

  29. Oh how I wish my husband would listen or read, and pick up my not so subtle hints (I once left a jewellery catalogue with a bracelet circled!!) You are very lucky. Mine does read my blog so maybe y’all can help me out when the time comes!

    These look so decadent..you had me at Nutella. Nutella is divine.

    Nazneen xx

  30. Ali says:

    Those cakes look divine….and like something that would definitely leave one speechless! Sounds like you received some perfect Christmas gifts!

  31. I have an old copy of Larousse Gastronomique that you just made me want to pull out and read, thank you! I adore molten chocolate cakes of any kind, and this one with nutella looks pretty awesome. I’ll have to bookmark this for my next dinner party.

    • It really is perfect for a dinner party because it doesn’t take long to prepare and you can pull it out of the fridge just before heating (which only takes 10 minutes). Let me know if you have any good recommendations for the book, as I’ve only scratched the surface of exploring the book so far!

      • Like you, I’ve only scratched the surface. The book belonged to my mom, and when I first got it many years ago, I found it intimidating and too advanced for my skills. Since it’s been sitting on the bookshelf and hasn’t been opened in a while, your post has inspired me to revisit it, thanks!

  32. As a non Nutella lover, I know that puts me in the minority, I could happily try this based on your photos and delicious description! Karen

  33. Kristy says:

    I’ve got two kids that LOVE nutella and would absolutely love this dessert. Don’t you just love when your hard work is rewarded with such high praise! 🙂

  34. Sissi says:

    I’m already starting to feel dizzy only reading the name of this recipe! Not to mention looking at your beautiful photos! As a chocolic and someone who loves soft desserts, I would go crazy for your mini cakes.
    Larousse Gastronomique is worth buying. I totally agree!

    • If you love soft chocolate desserts, then you would love this Sissi. There’s no question there! Wish you lived closer, as I’d happy have you over for dinner (with Eva!). Although I do get a bit nervous when my friends who are great cooks come to dinner!

      • Sissi says:

        Me? Great cook? I am very flattered, but I assure you that I would never think of myself as such. I wish we could meet from time to time… I envy you both so much each time I learn that you enjoyed some nice meal together…

  35. Fantastic! Love it – the photos make me dream of tea, “there are no words nutella lava” cakes and a great book in front of the fire place 🙂

  36. trangquynh says:

    wow, seriously a wow, your husband was right, there are no words to describe these beautiful and decadent baked goods ^^

  37. Claire D says:

    This looks amazing – I only discovered Nutella this past Summer, so am always on the look-out now on where I can add this amazing hazelnut/chocolate flavoring. Course right out of the jar with a spoon, works really well too. But adding it to Molten lava cakes – what a fabulous idea! Yum!

  38. Jayne says:

    What a fantastic dessert! I love Nutella and this would be a perfect way to use it, Im often guilty of simply eating it from the jar!

  39. :-O Oh my. There really are no words!

  40. disashisoul says:

    This looks too good. Thank you for sharing this!

  41. musingmar says:

    This is the kind of dessert that really gets people excited! I’ve been making Nigella’s Molten Lava Babycakes from “How to Be A Domestic Goddess” for years, always very well-received. This recipe sounds even more decadent! There’s always something new and exciting just waiting to be discovered in the world of food, isn’t there? 😊

  42. ohlidia says:

    I am a lover of Nutella and this cake looks amazing! Must definitely give this one a try!


Leave a comment